Short answer: To choose a digital insulation tester, define the equipment and test method first, then compare voltage options, resistance range, safety markings, leads, instructions and calibration support. Insulmeter's current product is the Hongda HDT20A Digital Insulation Resistance Tester, Orange; its title identifies a 1000V model. The listing does not publish selectable test voltages, accuracy, resistance range, safety category, maximum working voltage, conformity, lead construction or a manufacturer manual. HSE guidance requires electrical work to be planned and carried out by competent people with secure isolation. A familiar title is not enough evidence of fit.
Write the test brief before comparing models
A useful buying brief names the equipment, the test purpose, the required voltage, the expected measurement range, the acceptance rule, the environment and the person responsible. HSE says equipment should be suitable for the task and environment, while competence depends on the knowledge and complexity required.
This brief also stops a low price or a bold title from deciding the purchase too early. If a field matters to the procedure, leave it visible in the comparison even when the product page is silent.
| Selection field | Evidence to obtain before ordering |
|---|---|
| Test method | Workplace procedure or governing technical requirement |
| Voltage and range | Exact model manual and manufacturer specification |
| Safety boundary | Category, maximum working voltage and environment limits |
| Result control | Calibration route, records and competent interpretation |

Verify the HDT20A without stretching it
The current page supports the Hongda HDT20A name, orange SKU and 1000V title wording. It also records a 1.0 kg packed logistics weight. Those facts identify the candidate, but they do not complete the selection table. The manufacturer does not specify the selectable outputs, measurement range, accuracy, safety markings, leads, calibration or manual on the written page.
- Copy the model identity and published title wording into the comparison record.
- Request the exact manual and full electrical specification for that model.
- Compare each required field with the written test brief and workplace controls.
- Keep the product unapproved for use until the missing evidence is resolved.
Safety checks come before instrument controls
HSE says all relevant energy sources should be isolated and released, with isolation secured against inadvertent reintroduction. It also says people who cannot demonstrate competence should not work unless supervised by someone who can. These controls are separate from the tester's display, colour or claimed voltage.
Stop when the documentation is incomplete
The listing does not state accuracy, selectable outputs, resistance range, category marking, maximum working voltage, conformity, leads, discharge behaviour, calibration or battery information. The manufacturer does not specify those details. If the test brief depends on any of them, obtain the missing documentation or select a model whose limits are traceable.
Related guides and product details
Choose the HDT20A only if its model documentation fills every field that the planned test and safe system of work require. Read Insulation Resistance Tester for a Small UK Business for related guidance. Read Insulation Resistance Tester UK: What to Verify for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the Hongda HDT20A Digital Insulation Resistance Tester, Orange product page before ordering.
Sources and safety context
- Supports the HDT20A identity, 1000V title wording, orange SKU and published logistics detail. Current Insulmeter product page.
- Supports planning, secure isolation, equipment suitability and competence. HSE: Work on electrical equipment, machinery or installations.
- Supports suitable inspection or testing and specific competence for specialised equipment. HSE: Frequently asked questions on electrical safety.
